Google Photos and the Locked Folder | What it is and how to use it

Throughout Google I / O 2021 a brand new function was introduced coming to Google Photographs referred to as Locked Folder. In essence, it’s a particular folder that’s encrypted and is seen solely after recognition (the identical system set for the lock display screen is used). It’s definitely not an absolute novelty on Android however it’s nonetheless helpful to have it on an app that, in response to Google, has been used 4,000 billion occasions to add pictures.

Regardless of being available on the market for years, Google Photographs has by no means added one of many extra mundane options that many different native galleries have had shortly, corresponding to OnePlus (which has had a safe folder since 2019) and Samsung (which has had one since 2017). The truth is, even the Google Recordsdata app has had a protected folder for fairly a while.

What Google forgot to say on the 2021 I / O occasion is that the Locked Folder is simply obtainable offline. In different phrases, the pictures within the Locked Folder can’t be synchronized on different gadgets however can solely be considered on that exact smartphone.

Nevertheless, in Google Photographs the Locked Folder is positioned within the Utilities part on the underside tab of the Library. For safety it makes use of the display screen lock possibility, so you’ll be able to select between biometric authentication (if set) or PIN / sample. Both method, you have to arrange some type of lock display screen safety to make use of the function.

The Locked Folder is nice for delicate photographs corresponding to identification paperwork, account numbers, ID playing cards and medical stories. As soon as you progress the pictures to the folder, they may not seem within the timeline or anyplace else in Google Photographs or in your telephone. When viewing a picture within the folder, there are two buttons all the time obtainable: Delete and Transfer. Selecting the latter possibility is important if you wish to edit, share or trash gadgets.

VIA

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *